Digital Tools: Logo Redesign Process 1

For this project, I chose to redesign the logo for the video game development company Cloud Imperium Games.

logo-redesign

I started the process of the logo by looking at other game development company’s logos so that the logo I created would match the industry.

What I noticed when examining these logos was the fact that most are minimalistic, abstracted versions of an object. I decided to use this design principle in the creation of the new Cloud Imperium logo.

I felt it was fairly obvious that the abstracted object should be a cloud, due to the companies name.

screen-shot-2016-12-03-at-8-40-16-pm

The picture above is the progression of the new logo design. The cloud in the design is represented by a ‘C’ like shape which relates the first letter of cloud and the lightning bolt representative of the ‘I’ in Imperium.

Next, I decided that the logo could use some colour to make it stand out more.

screen-shot-2016-12-03-at-8-40-30-pm

I felt that the lightning bolt should be the focus of attention since clouds in real life are more of a background object. I played around with colours, examining both the light and dark versions of the logo. In the end, I decided to go with the blue lightning bolt since it better suited the website than the others.

 

Screen Shot 2016-12-04 at 5.43.45 PM.png
Final Logo Redesign

 

Leave a Reply

